Public Holidays in Brunei

Brunei's public holidays reflect its rich Islamic faith, royal traditions, and multiculturalism. Key celebrations include National Day, marking Brunei's 1984 independence, and the Sultan's Birthday, honoring the nation's monarch. Islamic observances such as Mawlid al-Nabi, Ramadan's culmination with Hari Raya Aidilfitri, and the Feast of Sacrifice, Hari Raya Aidiladha, underscore Brunei's deep-rooted faith. Chinese New Year showcases its cultural diversity. Each holiday offers a glimpse into Brunei's unique tapestry of traditions.

Chinese New Year (Date varies based on the lunar calendar)

National Day (23rd February)

Mawlid al-Nabi (Birth of Prophet Muhammad)

Ramadan and Hari Raya Aidilfitri (End of Ramadan)

Hari Raya Aidiladha (Feast of Sacrifice)

Hari Raya Puasa (Islamic New Year)

His Majesty the Sultan's Birthday (15th July)

Brunei's public holidays are more than mere days off; they are windows into its soul. Each holiday reveals facets of Brunei's deep-rooted Islamic faith, its respect for tradition, and its embrace of multiculturalism. For the keen observer, they offer an authentic experience of a nation where faith, royalty, and community harmoniously converge.

Upcoming Holidays (next six months)

HolidayDateDayType
Christmas Day December 25 Monday Public Holiday
New Year's Day January 01 Monday Public Holiday
Isra and Mi'raj February 08 Thursday Public Holiday
Chinese New Year / Lunar New Year February 10 Saturday Public Holiday
National Day (Hari Kebangsaan) February 23 Friday Public Holiday
National Day (Hari Kebangsaan) (observed) February 24 Saturday Public Holiday
Start of Ramadhan March 12 Tuesday Public Holiday
Nuzul Al-Quran March 28 Thursday Public Holiday
Hari Raya Aidil Fitri April 10 Wednesday Public Holiday
Hari Raya Aidil Fitri Holiday April 11 Thursday Public Holiday
Hari Raya Aidil Fitri Holiday April 12 Friday Public Holiday
Hari Raya Aidil Fitri Holiday April 13 Saturday Public Holiday
Armed Forces Day May 31 Friday Public Holiday
Armed Forces Day (observed) June 01 Saturday Public Holiday

Holidays by year

2023 2024