Public Holidays in Georgia

Nestled between the towering Caucasus Mountains and the vast Black Sea, Georgia is a land where ancient traditions coalesce with a burgeoning sense of national identity. Its public holidays offer glimpses into its storied past, deeply rooted Orthodox Christian faith, and the undying spirit of its people.

New Year's Day (1st January)

Orthodox Christmas (7th January)

International Women's Day (8th March)

Mother's Day (3rd March) and Father's Day (15th June)

Independence Day (26th May)

St. George's Day (23rd November)

Assumption Day (28th August)

Georgia's public holidays are portals into its soul. Each celebration offers insights into its devout Christian heritage, its tumultuous history, and its hope for a brighter future. Whether it's the spiritual depth of Orthodox Christmas or the fervor of Independence Day, Georgia's holidays encapsulate a nation that reveres its traditions while continually looking forward.

Upcoming Holidays (next six months)

HolidayDateDayType
New Year's Day January 01 Monday Public Holiday
New Year's Day Holiday January 02 Tuesday Public Holiday
Orthodox Christmas Day January 07 Sunday Public Holiday
Orthodox Epiphany (the Baptism of Jesus Christ) January 19 Friday Public Holiday
Mother's Day March 03 Sunday Public Holiday
International Women's Day March 08 Friday Public Holiday
National Unity Day April 09 Tuesday Public Holiday
Orthodox Good Friday May 03 Friday Public Holiday
Orthodox Holy Saturday May 04 Saturday Public Holiday
Orthodox Easter Sunday May 05 Sunday Public Holiday
Orthodox Easter Monday May 06 Monday Public Holiday
Victory Day May 09 Thursday Public Holiday
Saint Andrew the First-Called Day May 12 Sunday Public Holiday
Independence Day May 26 Sunday Public Holiday

Holidays by year

2023 2024