Public Holidays in Canada

Canada celebrates a variety of public holidays at both the federal and provincial/territorial levels. Here are some of the major public holidays observed in Canada:

Provincial and Territorial Holidays:

In addition to the federal holidays, each province and territory in Canada may have its own unique holidays. These can include Family Day, Heritage Day, Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day (in Quebec), Civic Holiday (variously named), and more. The dates and names of these holidays vary by region.

In the province of Quebec, Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day (June 24th) is celebrated as a provincial holiday. National Indigenous Peoples Day is celebrated on June 21st, honoring the heritage, diverse cultures, and contributions of Indigenous peoples. Please note that these holidays may vary slightly depending on the province or territory, and some regions may have additional holidays not listed here. Additionally, some holidays are observed on different dates in the province of Quebec compared to the rest of Canada.

Upcoming Holidays (next six months)

Christmas Day December 25 Monday Public Holiday
Boxing Day December 26 Tuesday Public Holiday
New Year's Day January 01 Monday Public Holiday
Good Friday March 29 Friday Public Holiday
Easter Monday April 01 Monday Public Holiday
Victoria Day May 20 Monday Public Holiday

Holidays by year

2023 2024 2025